First Things First

     Are you fast and fizzle or slow and deliberate? Imagine if you will how you are today. Now imagine how you were 2 years ago. Jump to the future and imagine yourself in 2 years. Don’t think about anyone else (kids, spouse, friends, etc.). Focus on yourself. Are you happy? Are you wasting time doing things that are not productive? What is stopping you from achieving what you want to achieve? Do I hear –

  • I have way too much to do, and not enough time in the world to do it all.
  • There is no balance between my personal life and career. It is like robbing from Peter to pay for Paul.
  • Deep down inside, I feel empty.

     Where you are headed is more important than how fast you get there. It took me 10 ½ years to complete my B.S. Remember; I was a HS drop out. However, I never gave up and although career and family came along, I vowed to slowly and steadily complete my B.S. That was accomplished and 10 months later I had a Master’s degree. I was still under 30 and life was going good. But I was still empty inside and yearned for more. I questioned whether I would be able to pursue a Law degree or Doctorate degree. I had excuses- my career with the Department of Defense was flourishing. Why would I need a higher degree? Then I attended a Stephen Covey seminar “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People”, and I was never the same.

     Stephen R. Covey (with Roger Merrill and Rebecca Merrill) published “First Things First” a book that covers key strategies for your life compass. Remember, where you are going is more important than how fast you get there. No one on his or her deathbed ever said “I wish I would have spent more time at work”. I’ll continue blogging about simple strategies you can use to move from the abyss of your fragmented live, and into areas of happiness. And the best part is – it’s free.

Have any questions? Please feel free to ask.

Cheers,

Dr. Judy

ISBN 0-671-86441-6

Comments
2 Responses to “First Things First”
  1. I found your site on google blog search and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. Just added your RSS feed to my feed reader. Look forward to reading more from you.

    – Randy Nichols.

  2. judyhalliday says:

    Thanks Randy. I look forward to being able to share.

    Cheers,

    Dr. Judy

Leave a comment